Lesson 22: Know Your Limits.

Well, the time has come to admit defeat, to swallow my pride, to say goodbye, to Ms. Vesty. At least for a little while. She’s been good, the old girl… kept me company, challenged my problem-solving skills, made me want to stab things with my 5.5 needles… but it’s time to just call it. As my good friend Jess would say, this project has “died in the arse”.

IMG_2232
This is how she shall remain, immortalised, until I have developed the skills to finish a bloody V-neck. It’s all just too much. We’ve had several attempts, we’ve tried many ways of trying to record the instructions, it’s just not working and so I QUIT.

This was Grandma’s go at instructions:

IMG_2237

 

This was mine:

IMG_2238

 

And this is theirs:

IMG_2239

 

Any tips are most welcome, but for now, she’s going on the shelf. Grandma wanted to unravel her to make something else, but I prefer to keep her in storage, as a constant reminder of my failure. And then, when I actually do build a super knitting brain capable of deciphering those instructions, and I finish Ms. Vesty once and for all, I WILL KNOW THAT I AM KNITTING KING.

Now to choose another knitting project, that is more to my skill level, interesting enough to actually want to complete… and possibly involving some kind of new skill. I was contemplating socks. Or perhaps just a simple jumper with some colour changes? Suggestions are welcome… here are some ideas:

 

Too daggy? I would of course change the colours to RAD... (www.loveknitting.com.au)

Too daggy? I would of course change the colours to RAD… (www.loveknitting.com.au)

 

Too difficult? (www.loveknitting.com.au)

Too difficult? And we all know how Grandma feels about chunky yarn… (www.loveknitting.com.au)

 

Too sexy...? (www.canadianliving.com)

Too sexy…? (www.canadianliving.com)

 

YOU. WISH.

YOU. WISH.


Something to think about.

In the meantime though, I realised that I never actually flogged my new(ish) Etsy website. Because I am an awesome salesperson.

GET IN! STOCKS WONT LAST! BRRR IT’S COLD OUTSIDE! HASHTAG DESPERATION!

https://www.etsy.com/au/shop/pickapickled

 

Have a lovely week x

