Lesson 17: How to Identify a Modern Song

Ok, so after some extensive correcting on Grandma’s part (of my mistakes… yes I let her do the fun bits), we’re back on track with Ms. Vesty. I’ve absolved never to watch TV and moss stitch again; because no matter how easy it might seem to knit-one-purl-one, I am constantly looking back down at my knitting after looking away, only to be caught wondering how the fuck I managed to stuff that up in the space of 3 seconds. Never again.

So after a fantastic recommendation for the podcast for This American Life and an hour’s solid knitting and listening, this is the fruit of my labours.

For those of you who may say that it looks exactly the same as two weeks ago... SHUSH it's completely different and mistake-free. For those of you who can see any mistakes... SHHH I don't want to know.

For those of you who may say that it looks exactly the same as two weeks ago… SHUSH it’s completely different and mistake-free. For those of you who can see any mistakes… SHUSH I don’t want to know.

 

Meanwhile, this is what Grandma is currently working on herself (to be a jumper)…

Front

Front

 

Back

Back

 

Cable detail

Cable detail

 

Hmm… did someone say, “stark contrast”? SHUSH.

 

This week Grandma and I were discussing music over dinner… I think it got brought up from Grandma talking about when she used to tell my Dad and Uncle to turn the sound down if she could so much as hear their record-playing from the kitchen while she was making dinner. I inquired whether it was just the Rock and Roll she didn’t like, but it was pretty much anything.

“I can’t tell the difference with music,” She said. “The only way I can tell the difference between an old song and a new song is that if they repeat the last line over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and over, AND OVER… it must be a new song.”

On the contrary, Grandma said she had been watching the BAFTA awards the other night. “That young Australian man won an award… what’s his name? Goatee?”

“Gotye?”

“Yes! What a silly name! He’s Australian, for Pete’s sake!”

Grandma was very impressed with herself though that once they played “Somebody I Used to Know”; even she recognised it. Even 720AM was not immune to Gotye this year!

 

Have also been working on Chunky Scarf Numero Uno this week:

Too chunky to fit in the frame!

Too chunky to fit in the frame!

 

Love this wool. So much more satisfying being able to complete so much in so little time, too! (Sorry Ms. Vesty).

 

Also wanted to post up a pic that my dear Irish friends sent me a while ago, of their baby wearing some Booties I knit for her:

Meara

 

Isn’t she adorable!! Pretty sure it’s the Booties that make the outfit 😉

 

Have a wonderful week x

