Port Wine Fruit Jelly

This week I had my first go at one of Grandma’s favourite recipes: actually I was all set to put a name in there and then realised it has no name. On the recipe Grandma wrote out for me it just says “Jelly Mould”. That doesn’t really sound very appetising. Like something that grows in very sweet bathrooms.

But don’t let the no-name/ gross-name put you off, this is a childhood favourite of mine, hence my mentioning it to Grandma in a reminiscent attitude some months ago. Admittedly I may have brought it up in vain hope that she would make it again for the first time in years, instead I was presented with the recipe the next week. And it’s taken me this long to pluck up the courage to make it.

 

Courage, you say? Yes. Because the last part of the recipe very carefully explains how to release the jelly from the mould. The words Grandma uses; “Should come out freely”, were not inspiring. SHOULD? After all that work? SHOULD? I imagined a watery spill of gelatine spewing forth all over my kitchen bench. The friends I had invited for jelly tea mortally disappointed. The loss of my friends (kept only by baked goods bribery), and dignity.

But this week I made the jelly. It came out freely. Well, pretty much. I had to put it in the water for another 10 seconds (see above for all of the anxious thoughts running through my head during this 10 seconds), but then out she came; quite the beauty.

 

Put 'em all together...

 

Fill yer jelly mould halfway...

 

Spoon in sour cream a teaspoon at a time...

 

Gently spoon in the remainder of the jelly mix...

 

Voila!

 

Mine doesn’t taste as nice as Grandma’s of course, but the result was pretty tickling to me; if only for the sweet, sweet nostalgia. Its also quite novel to make a dessert in summer that doesn’t involve warming our flat into a sauna.

 

Recipe as follows:

2 packets of port wine jelly made with 450mls boiling water (I used 500mls cos it was easier and I’m a rebel)

1 tin crushed pineapple (drained)

1 tin strawberries in juice, slice fruit if large (drained)

3 mashed bananas (don’t make the mistake I did of using old bruised ones because usually these are good in baking. Needless to say this dessert was not baked so it just gives it classic bruised-banana overtones)

Sour Cream (about half a little tub… or whatever. Get the full fat one don’t be a pussy)

 

Allow jelly to cool then add fruit.

Half fill lightly greased mould with mixture – freeze until firm on top (1-2 hours), put the rest in the fridge while you wait.

Layer half-filled mould with teaspoons of sour cream, Leaving small space on edges. Gently spoon in remainder of mixture, seal with lid and refrigerate approximately 12 hours.

Run hot water into sink and place mould in same for 10 seconds.

Remove mold lid and place a plate on same and upend mould.

SHOULD come out freely 🙂

 

Oh and Grandma said she prefers it with quarter of a cup of slithered almonds – you can sprinkle these in when you fill the first half of the mould. This might not be everyone’s taste but I put them in mine and thought it was nice.

 

Have a lovely week.

